RSS

Travel, Traveling, Traveled… Home

09 Aug

I set out on July 29 to meet my cousin (who had broken her arm) at my mom’s house in Springfield, Missouri.  We visited and stayed the night, staying up much too late for the early morning departure.  It had been eight years since we had last seen each other.  On Saturday, we voyaged out, making our way to Antlers, Oklahoma to pick up her son (who had broken his leg), and then drove back to Poplar Bluff, Missouri, stopping in Springfield to get my car.

Over the ten hour drive, we caught up over the last few years.  Life has a way of carrying on, and sometimes it seems as though it goes faster than reasonably possible.  Our children are grown now, and making choices that will dictate the rest of their lives.  It is a sobering thought, but one we tried hard to keep on the lighter side while we drove.  Two things we both agreed on… our sons are good boys and we are proud of them.

I stayed with Cheryl and Jakeob for a few days in Poplar Bluff.  While there we had a great time visiting.  I met some wonderful christians at the church I visited on Sunday morning.  Jakeob and I spent some time riding around the area looking at the flood damage near the Wappapello dam, stopping for ice cream, and seeing the sights around Poplar Bluff.  The area has grown since I was last there twenty-two years ago.

While I was with them I also visited my grandma’s grave in Patterson, Missouri.  The emotions were more intense than I thought they would be.  It has been eight years since her death.  I miss her terribly some days, and the day I was there certainly qualifies as one of  them.  After sitting by her headstone for minutes I didn’t count, I went to see my aunt and uncle.  They live in what will always be my grandma’s house.  I like that they are making the home their own, and the changes seem to all be for the better, ones Grandma would have liked herself.

On my second trip to Patterson, I was able to do some research at the Wayne County Historical Society.  The heat drove me out of the building long before I was ready to leave, but I comforted myself with the knowledge I will be coming back.  I met Susan Eaton, who allowed me access to the library, and who has a love of history that rivals my own.  I think if I lived in the area we could do some serious organizing of the library, which appears to be a diamond in the rough.  After leaving the library, I went back to my uncle’s to claim some of his home-grown tomatoes.  Which were really yummy, if you were wondering.

On Tuesday evening, I met a friend I haven’t seen in nearly twenty-two years for dinner.  We spent several hours catching up.  We, both, have two boys that are closer to being grown than children.  And like when Cheryl and I caught up on our drive, too much time had passed in much too short a span than seemed possible.  It is an odd feeling to realize how much I’ve missed her company over the years.  Hopefully, we will better keep in touch from now on.

Wednesday morning I set out for my hometown to visit a few more folks.  One, the mother of one of my best friends in high school, and the other, his uncle, whom we all affectionately called, Uncle Sam.  That is his real name, by the way.  Time seemed to reverse when I was at Jennie’s house, and that was truly refreshing.  After leaving, I went by The Pig for a combination sandwich and nostalgia.  Somethings really never do change.  This makes me happy.

As I ate and drove (not recommended when driving a stick) toward St. Louis to meet my sister for her birthday.  I won’t say how old she is, since she will always be younger than me.  We enjoyed light chit-chat with her family over pizza at a place called Pi.  Haley, my niece has the cutest glasses!  She is growing up fast, and plans to enter a beauty pageant in the fall.  Jake, my nephew is going to be attending college while he is still finishing high school.  He is working a lot this summer as a lifeguard and at the same place my sister works.  My sister’s husband indulged our chatter after having a long day of his own.  I thought that was a sweet thing for him to do.

For the next couple days I hid out and tried to get some editing done before I met up with Steve and the boys, along with Sarah, Paul’s girlfriend.  Steve’s brother had come up from Georgia to visit and the plan was to meet up with him.  After a day and a half, and lunch with my other sister and her family (I was required to return my other niece, Madison, before leaving town, even after we plotted otherwise), Jared and I headed back to Lincoln, arriving late Sunday night so he could make it to Marching Band camp.  He is section leader again this year.  I’m proud of his accomplishments and talent.

I am tired, but home.  I missed my bed!  Which I will blame for sleeping WAY to late on Monday morning.  Today, I tutored.  My student told me she will be on vacation for about five weeks.  She is going back to visit family in Russia.  After being gone for a week myself, I could only imagine being away for five weeks.  I hope she has a wonderful time and that the gap in lessons does not slow down the progress we have made.  She is planning to take a workbook with her to practice.  She is so smart, I think she will be just fine.

Personally, I am thankful to be home and am anxiously awaiting the arrival of the rest of my family this evening.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 9, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Travel, Traveling, Traveled… Home

  1. Rob Horton

    August 9, 2011 at 9:27 pm

    How did I miss that you have a blog?!!? Well you made my google reader now and I’m a subscriber!

     

Leave a comment